i have to thank you all… and remind you of one thing

13 03 2011

Last week was National Write A Letter of Appreciation Week, and though I’m a little late in celebrating, it’s better late than never, right?

You see, I won a Texas Social Media Award on Thursday! I’ll tell you all about that in a sec, but first I owe everyone a huge thank you. Without you, I wouldn’t have gotten it. Without my readers, followers, listeners- I’d have nothing. Thanks for putting up with my ridiculosity. Thanks for pretending I’m interesting. Thanks for the compliments on the nominations page for the award, and most importantly- Thanks for keeping me going day after day!

Another thing I realized- If I hadn’t had the crazy, random idea of “stalking” the Real World DC, I would have nothing that I have now. It’s really scary to think about, actually. It was such a simple, random, sporadic idea that came about when I was bored,  and next thing I knew- people knew who I was, my following increased more than 10x, and I felt like I had a chance in doing something with my life.

If I hadn’t made those videos, I wouldn’t have had a guest spot on Kane’s show. I wouldn’t have gotten over 1,000 followers overnight. I’d only have about 250 people looking at my blog a day. Candy95 wouldn’t have hired me or thought I was some cool internet vlogger. I wouldn’t have been selected for the MTV TJ top 25. I wouldn’t have this Texas Social Media Award.

I probably would have given up on my blog by now out of frustration [terrible to admit, but true.] I’d still be fighting with my parents every Wednesday night. I’d be working at some no-fun job, doing a radio for free on the Internet with the hopes of someone finding me. I’d be stalking Toby Knapp begging him to get me a job somewhere.

I’d be miserable.

It’s insane to think about how one spur of the moment idea honestly shaped the rest of my life. So many people told me not to do it. That it was way too weird. I’d get in trouble. They’d hate me. But I couldn’t be more thankful for the fact that I did it, and it just makes me want to remind everyone one thing:

If you ever have an idea, no matter how crazy, dumb, simple, ridiculous etc. it sounds- act on it. Immediately. Worry about the results/reactions later. Wondering “what if?” sucks. Listening to people who say “you’re freaking crazy” is dumb. Tell them to suck it, sit back, and watch you have fun and do something awesome.

Actions

Information

One response

13 03 2011
Noel

Girl I love that I have followed you through the beginning…. So inspirational, I hope you know that I am quoting that last part of yours!! hope you don’t think I’m creepy haha but it is seriously inspirational!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

