mtv asks: what inspires me

11 07 2010

One part of challenge #2 for MTV TJ is to share with the world what drives me.

If there was one thing that I kept in my mind at all times to make sure I keep going after what I want in life and never give up, it’s this quote:

Strivers achieve what dreamers believe.

I heard Usher say it one time, actually. Not sure if he took it from someone or not, but I know that when it comes time to make my acceptance speech for anything I may get (which will hopefully come in August, rather than later in life) I have to thank Usher.

Lots of people say they want to make it big. They want to get their dream job. They want to move away. They want to try new things. You can’t just say it though. You have to do anything and everything in your power to make sure those things happen.

For the past two years I’ve been busting my ass trying to make sure my blog is something people will come back to, while trying to find a job. Now I have a full-time job on top of my blog, and now challenges to complete every three days.

It’s not easy…. But it’s 100% worth it. I would never have been given this opportunity if I would have listened to the people who said “why waste so much time on your blog?! Have fun and live a little! It’s pointless to do all that if no one’s reading it!” All of those people are still sitting at home on their couch saying “I’m going to make it big one day.”

I have dreams, I have goals, and I have a future that I want. If I forget about it or let it go for even just a second, I could miss out on an awesome opportunity.

So if I were to give you advice I’d say write that quote down and put it in your wallet and keep it there forever, just like I did. Keep inspiration all around you and never let the haterade get into your system. It’s a deadly poison.

Actions

Information

One response

12 07 2010
Miss Kim

Working hard is an understatement. And you totally defied us because you knew exactly where you eventually wanted to eventually be, and you weren’t going to let ANYONE sidetrack you. You are the perfect example of what passion can drive a person to accomplish. Your fearlessness and humor make the ride fun for all of us.

Leave a Reply

