byebye to the DMV

20 05 2010

Whew. I’m here. I made it. Safely, and with only about 17 fights with the parents… Okay, maybe that’s an exaggeration… Maybe 8. I lost count.

Anyway… I didn’t get to finish out my bucket list. Fail. Didn’t go to Ben’s Chili Bowl. Didn’t go to Dave & Buster’s. Didn’t say bye to Toby Knapp…. That’s all I can think of at this point.

I did have quite the epic goodbye party, though. Friday night I had my final get-ridiculous-while-it’s-still-okay night, and on Saturday all my real friends came for a goodbye celebration at the Ploger household.

The proof of the epicness is in the pictures.


Then I began my 24 hour drive to College Station in the moving truck with Pops…. and all my stuff…. and Slutty Cat, of course.


BUT! Most importantly!- Before I left… I compiled this list of things I have no doubt I will be missing now that I’ve left the DMV. In no particular order, here they are:

  • Being a “DC blogger”
  • Awkward Woodbridge drama
  • McFadden’s [and everyone there.. and being a regular… and everything about my Friday nights there.]
  • Joelbaby, the bartender’s, screwdrivers, Magic drinks, and him in general.
  • $3 pitchers at Water’s Edge
  • Karaoke nights at the Steakhouse and Cue Club
  • The Thursday Morning Shuffle, and everything about Thursday mornings at the ‘Rado.
  • Walking into the Clear Channel building like I own the place… and everyone there, of course.
  • The Bug Out
  • My brother
  • Always winning beer chugging contests
  • Kings Dominion
  • Redskins games and fans
  • All of my DC blogging/media friends
  • Knowing at least one person everywhere I go
  • My life coach
  • Never really sleeping alone on the weekends… or whenever, really. There’s always someone willing to snuggle. [No, I’m not a slut, thank you very much.]
  • Laying out at Leesylvania with the dead fish and My First Sony
  • Nissan Pavilion [RIP. I am now successfully boycotting Jiffy Lube Live]
  • My friends and family…. duh.

And some things I absolutely won’t miss:

  • Driving my life away
  • Living in a house where I can’t do what I want
  • Working for free

I’m lovin’ here so far. It’s only been a few days, but it’s pretty amazing. Everyone’s nice. Everything’s close. [I drive SIX MINUTES to work… How is that even possible?!?!?] I even have a pretty sweet park across the street from my apartment… Now all I need are some friends to play volleyball with.

It just feels really, really good to finally sit down and realize I’ve finally been noticed and wanted. Slaving over work, that many people called pointless, has finally paid off… and I couldn’t be happier.

Now, let’s see how the first few official days go! Eep! Learning the system tomorrow, on-air Saturday, and my show starts MONDAY! This is it. This is what I’ve been waiting for.

NoVA- I will miss you dearly, but College Station- I am SO glad to be here. Let’s do this.

[PS: I’ll be back to “real blogging” on Monday, too! :)]

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

